top of page


Created in 1965, Head Start is the most successful, longest-running, national school readiness program in the United States.  It provides comprehensive education, health, nutrition, and parent involvement services to low-income children and their families.  Nearly 25 million pre-school aged children have benefited from Head Start.

The Texas Head Start Association was started in 1985.  Below are the Past Presidents for the Association.

Ruth Marshall          Blanche Russ Glover         Ruth Marshall       Sylvia Martinez Flores

 (1985-1986)                  (1986-1988)                 (1988-1990)                (1990-1992)

Delia Dela Rosa            Lucila Ortega               Helen R. Wright         Kenneth Gilbert

  (1992-1994)                 (1994-1998)                 (1998-2002)               (2002-2006)

Venetia Peacock            Joyce Hyak                  Bonnie Buchanan       Weldon T. Beard

  (2006-2008)               (2008-2011)                  (2011-2015)                (2015-Present)

bottom of page